A Journey Begins with a Single Bridge

Helen Macdonald in her wonderful book H is for Hawk describes her father’s quirky and quixotic quest to photograph every bridge over the Thames River. Something about that effort struck my fancy, and I thought “Why not do that!” Or, more accurately, why not do something comparable with the Genesee River, the waterway that runs north through Rochester and defines the geography and history of this region.

Of course in initiating this project I have no idea what I’m getting into, for I’m ignorant of even the most basic facts, like how many bridges span the Genesee River. A few bridges immediately come to mind, such as the four or five spans in downtown Rochester that I’ve driven or walked over hundreds of times, and the footbridge with the French name that crosses near High Falls and the Genesee Brewery. I know there’s a bridge over the Genesee River on the New York Thruway, but when you’re driving at 70 MPH it’s easy to be heedless of such a structure if it’s not too large. I imagine that bridges cross the river more frequently as the river gets narrower the farther south you go, but to be honest I’m not even sure where the Genesee River starts. In Pennsylvania, perhaps? I guess it’s finding out things like this that make the project appealing to me.

I’m sometimes better at coming up with brainstorms like this than completing them, so I wouldn’t wager that I will actually visit every bridge over the Genesee River. But other members of the family seemed interested and enthusiastic enough that I thought it would be worth it to give it a try. With winter settling in and the general dreariness of life in the time of COVID, this might make for an interesting diversion.

As for a plan, I decided to start north and work south with the goal of crossing each bridge (on foot if possible) and taking pictures from multiple angles while learning a little about the area and the bridge. I know little about engineering and bridge construction, but I’ll try and keep an eye out for interesting details–though I have doubts about my ability to capture them on camera (luckily I should get some help from other members of the family).

With this vague plan in place, two days after Thanksgiving my wife Ursula and I drove from our home in Webster to visit our first bridge, the Patrick O’Rorke Bridge near the mouth of the Genesee River. The adventure had begun!

10 thoughts on “A Journey Begins with a Single Bridge

  1. We swam in the river in the southern tier near the 86 and found out it is the only river to run all the way through New York State. It also appears to run from south to north. This January, Barb and I visited Letchworth State park and saw the Genesee river there. It seemed to be running north to south there. Any thoughts?

    Like

    1. Hi Marty,

      I know the river bends quite a bit, though I think the river runs south to north in Letchworth, but maybe north to south farther to the west. I could be wrong though! I’ve actually deliberately tried to avoid peeking too far ahead at the course of the river so it sort of unfolds as I explore it. I’m looking forward to exploring more if it as I move south, though at the pace I’m going it could be several years 🙂

      Like

  2. Here is a story, inner loop bridge. Some years ago, 20-30 maybe. Icy day. A car with several people flipped off the bridge and went over the falls. Divers searched and never found the car. I tried googling but found nothing. I know I didn’t dream it. Does anybody else remember this? Doris Adamek

    Like

  3. Eagerly awaiting another bridge report, meantime I have several bridge journeys of my own scheduled over the summer and fall Doris Adamek

    Like

  4. Taking friends on the bridge journey tomorrow in my own car and have two more scheduled in July in a 24 passenger bus. I’m loving it. Do I have your name?

    Like

  5. Now I can’t find your report about the Ford St. Bridge and the polluted land from some company with vacuum in its name. an you remind me

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started